The Heroin Diaries: A Year In The Life Of A Shattered Rock Star Review

heroindiaries

The Heroin Diaries: A Year In The Life Of A Shattered Rock Star by Nikki Sixx

My Rating:    four-stars

 

  • Spoiler Alert: This review contains strong and abusive language

This book chronicles the most eventful year in the life of Nikki Sixx. an American musician, songwriter, radio host, and photographer, best known as the co-founder, bassist, and primary songwriter of the band Mötley Crüe. Written in his own words, it is basically the journal entries kept by Nikki Sixx from Christmas Eve of 1986 to Christmas of 1987, when he was reportedly declared dead in the presence of Slash owing to his drug abuse. It contains comments from people who have been a huge part of his life aka band members, family members, managers and friends.

To quote him, it narrates his tale from “There is something about spending Christmas alone, naked, sitting by the Christmas tree gripping a shotgun, that lets you know your life is spinning dangerously outta control.” to “I was so happy every morning when I woke up that I was pissing smiley faces.”

I honestly did not know how big Mötley Crüe or Nikki Sixx was when I started reading this book. I just wanted a book where I could get it all bared out from the horse’s mouth and what better option do you have than picking the one by the junkie who literally came back from the dead.

hqdefault

As I got through the pages it set into motion a flurry of emotions through me. It made me hate the person so very much, everything was just so unreal and pathetic, but I somehow couldn’t leave the book. Some places really made me feel bad for the guy dealing with childhood pain, struggle with depression and a crushing loneliness and life on the road.. but then he did he kept doing something so douche-bag-y that all that sympathy went right out of the window. I definitely got from this book what I was looking for, an insight. What do these extreme cases of drug abuse feel like? What goes on in their heads? Why they behave like that? The truth is.. even they do not know it. It is so sick.. like he says, “SICK AND TIRED OF BEING SICK AND TIRED”. And then the life-changing (no pun intended) event happened.. he died! Weirdly enough he says he took a shot as soon as he reached home..merely hours after the event!

Years later, in 2007 he decided to share with the world his tale.

4641514431_a29e73cf0e_b

 

All in all, it was quite an experience reading this one!

It couldn’t have been easy for Nikki Sixx to bare it all, but yet he did. It took to tough heart to write it, and it will take one to read it as well. Not for the faint hearted, it is extremely graphic and raw. However, if you give it a go, I believe you will not be disappointed..

If you have read this or any other similar book, do let me know! 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Heroin Diaries: A Year In The Life Of A Shattered Rock Star Review

  1. I think I would love to read this book, I need raw writings, and what do you think about my heart ? Am I a faint hearted ?
    😉
    You know me…!

    One and only one
    Empress…!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

